2013–Him

On New Year’s Eve, my wife eloquently stated her resolutions for 2013.  She’s focusing on her spirit this year, not on losing weight.  My main focus this year is losing weight.

You may ask why.

I can give you 240 reasons.

2012 was literally my heaviest year ever and I don’t intend to repeat it.  I want to lose weight because I need to be healthy for my wife.  I also want to feel better about myself.  It isn’t going to be easy, but it will certainly be worth the time and effort.  My goal is to look like this:

My goal is not to be skinny.  My goal is to be fit and healthy.  My goal weight is 200 pounds, so I’ve got a long way to go.  I plan to lose weight through both diet and exercise.  I’m going to focus on mostly cardio via running/swimming with recovery days focused on yoga and rebuilding muscle tone.

Here are a few other goals for 2013:

1.  Apply Dave Ramsey’s FPU steps throughout the entire year.

Last year, Court and I started using Dave Ramsey’s FPU lessons to balance our monthly budget, save money, and pay off my school loans.  It’s worked out well for us, and I want to continue apply the “Baby Steps” to our lifestyle each month.  For more information on FPU, click here.

2.  Carpentry (building instead of buying).

I recently built a workbench with my own two hands.  It felt natural to be surrounded by sawdust and power tools.  Throughout 2013, I plan to hone my skills in this area.  My ultimate goal is to build my wife a farmhouse table over our summer break.  The concept of building instead of buying is foreign to my generation–I plan to make this part of our lifestyle.

3.  Read more.

After graduating from college, I was surprised to find that I actually enjoyed reading.  I prefer nonfiction historical reads and fictional graphic novels (The Walking Dead, Batman, etc.).  I’m going to focus more on reading each Thursday (No Technology Thursday).  First up:  Bear Grylls’ autobiography: Mud, Sweat, and Tears.

2012 was the year of uncertainty.  I was unhappy in my job, I was unhappy with living in Georgia, and I was ultimately unhappy with myself.  2013 is the year of great change and personal reflection.  I’m happy with my new job, I’m happy in our farmhouse, and I’m going to be happy with my body and my spirit.

–Josh

 

Leave a Reply

