Spring Cleaning

Though I abhor cleaning, when the weather turns warm and the daffodils begin to bloom, I do experience an intense desire to scrub up my home.  I feel as though eliminating all the grime from wintertime is the perfect cure for the drab, gray existence that is winter in Northeast Georgia.  At the first hint of warmth and sunlight, I defiantly fling open my windows and doors and dare the doom and gloom to come back.

We’re very cautious about the cleaners that we use in our home.  Not only do we have two very curious kitties, but we also have a very old home that requires a bit of extra care and elbow grease.  Here are a few products that I absolutely could not clean without:

I’ve written about Mrs. Meyers Clean Day products before, so I’ll be brief.  I adore this all-purpose cleaner.  I use it to scrub baseboards, door frames, tile, my refrigerator, and a host of other items.  In a one-gallon bowl, I mix 1/4 cup of cleaner with one kettleful of boiling water.  The delicious lavender scent seems to linger for several days before finally dispersing, something that makes me quite happy.  I also use this cleaner to sanitize my piano keys {a must for a piano teacher!} and it’s perfect for scrubbing out my old cast iron bathtub.  Though it is a touch more expensive than other all-purpose cleaners {$7.99 for 32 fluid ounces}, a little goes quite a long way.  I’ve had one bottle since last October and I’ve barely made a dent {with regular cleanings}.  Purchase this and other Mrs. Meyers products by clicking here {and check out the heavenly new Radish scent!}.

Though I hate cleaning, I’ve always been quite fond of dusting.  To me, it feels therapeutic and I love how clean a room smells once I’m finished.  I love Scott’s Liquid Gold Wood Cleaner & Preservative because it contains no wax, no silicone, and it’s totally organic.  I find that I have to dust less often when using this product and it smells wonderful.  To use, I simply buff onto a wooden surface and then wipe down the surface with a clean cloth {my husband’s old t-shirts}.  It lends a gorgeous sheen to wood and leaves an almost mirror-like finish on flat surfaces like my dining room table.  It’s also great to use when cleaning cabinets.  It’s slightly more expensive than other dusting agents, but you’ll find it readily available at most markets or hardware stores for around $5.00.

I should preface this by saying that I do not use the Swiffer cleaning solution that is meant to pair with this product.  I love the mop and the cleaning pads, but I create my own cleaning solution that’s safe for kitties and babies alike.  I can’t be bothered to wring out a dirty mop over and over again, so I love the ease and accessibility that this product allows.

To read more about my cleaning solution, click here.

White vinegar is a literal gift from heaven.  Though the scent is quite pungent at first, upon drying it’s no longer detectable.  When diluted, it isn’t harmful to most surfaces and it’s safe to use around family pets and small children.  I splash in a bit when I wash funky smelling towels, I rinse off fruits and vegetables with a water/vinegar solution, and it’s perfect for cleaning out my teakettle.  Sometimes I even add in a tablespoon or two when I wash dishes!  White vinegar costs pennies when used as a cleaning agent and it’s 90% effective at killing mold and 99.9% effective at killing bacteria {per Good Housekeeping’s Heloise}.

Dryer sheets aren’t just useful in the laundry room.  I use them to wipe down baseboards, table legs, and other high traffic areas that tend to gather lots of dust or cat hair.  It leaves rooms smelling fresh and clean and it seems to cut down on the number of times I have to dust my baseboards.  I love Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day dryer sheets in Lemon Verbena {$7.99 for 80 sheets}.

 

With the products mentioned above in my arsenal, cleaning isn’t quite as miserable.  What about you?  Do you have any tricks or tips that make spring cleaning a bit more pleasant?  What are some of your favorite cleaning products?

 

One thought on “Spring Cleaning

Leave a Reply

