“The land you live on is like your mother…”

dominogarden

Daylight Savings Time is such a difficult transition, especially in the education world.  While I mourn the loss of an hour of priceless sleep, I welcome the changes that occur during this season of change.

Wintertime is difficult for me.  It’s so dark, it’s unbearably cold, and the overwhelming grayness of it all is too much.  No, I much prefer Springtime, with its brightness, warmth, and wonderfully brilliant colors spreading throughout the foothills.  Spring signifies a new beginning—a chance for a fresh start.  It’s a building crescendo of light, sound, and color just bursting forth from the ground.

The smell of Georgia red clay, rich and loamy, is perhaps my most favorite part of the coming season.  It signifies a willingness to grow, a trait the Earth displays wholeheartedly each year.  This smell of fertile clay triggers many memories in my mind—watching my mama plant gardenia bushes, helping my daddy pick up sweet potatoes, and wearing denim overalls to match my Pop Calvin as he plowed his gardens.  In the Deep South, love of the land is nothing new.  Gerald O’Hara said it best:

 “Do you mean to tell me, Katie Scarlett O’Hara, that Tara, that land doesn’t mean anything to you?  Why, land is the only thing in the world worth workin’ for, worth fightin’ for, worth dyin’ for, because it’s the only thing that lasts!”

 Armed with my knowledge of last year and the tenacity I inherited from my daddy, I’ve planned a bumper crop this year.  We’re so very close to planting season and I find myself giggling at the thought of scraping clay from beneath my nails while my manicurist clicks her tongue.

 Along with the traditional tomatoes, peppers, zucchini, herbs, and squash, we’re also going to try our hand at okra, garlic, Brussels sprouts, arugula, pumpkins, carrots, and bib lettuce.  Our kitchen will be filled with steam, Mason rings, and vinegar this summer as we set about canning, preserving, and freezing our crop.

In the coming weeks I’ll be sure to document our box gardens and the progress we’re making.  Change is good, change is welcome, and in this case, change smells like soil after a fresh Springtime rain.

XOXO,

Court

Do you garden?  If so, what do you grow?  And do you consume all of your produce while it’s fresh or do you preserve some for the winter months?

Leave a Reply

