WWBWD?

If you are not a fan of Gossip Girl, I highly suggest you queue it up on Netflix.  It’s a lifestyle, y’all.  Unless you’re my Daddy—you’re absolutely NOT allowed to watch Gossip Girl.  

Today I came to the realization that I am not Serena van der Woodsen.  I’ve been masquerading for quite some time with an ombre hairstyle and poor attempts at her effortless boho-chic style.  My frustration with my closet full of Ann Taylor, Banana Republic, and J. Crew was palpable each morning…I wanted fringe and leather and maxi-everything!  I wanted to be free-spirited, spontaneous, and irresistible.  What I only just realized was this:  I was fighting against my own nature.  I mean, I nearly bought a straw fedora…

…just not me.

Everyone wants to be the Serena van der Woodsen’s or the Marilyn Monroe’s, or even the post-Joel Madden Nicole Richie’s.   They all exude charm and effortless boho-chic.  They’re the girls who will spontaneously jet off to Rio or dance in a fountain.  And you know what?  If that works for you, great.  Some deep crevice of my psyche will always be jealous of you and your carefree ways.  But I’ve got to be true to myself.

I’ll admit, pretending to be Serena has been fun.  I’ve nixed the uncomfortable undergarments like pantyhose and it’s been nice just rolling out of bed and slipping into a maxi-dress.  There’s a definite ease to it.  I even tried to learn to love jeans, but I just couldn’t do it.  I much prefer dresses or skirts with structure.  It’s time to embrace my preppy style a la Blair Waldorf.  WWBWD=What Would Blair Waldorf Do?

1.  Structure is key.  It’s rare to see Queen B in anything shapeless or poorly made.  Along with definite structure, B’s clothes are also impeccably tailored.

2.  Embrace your femininity.  Blair softens up her brittle personality with loose curls, delicate ruffles, and demure makeup.

3.  Don’t be afraid of color.  Blair always adds a pop of color into her ensembles.

4.  Rock a headpiece.

5.  Modest is hottest.  I’ll be the first to admit that Blair made some pretty terrible decisions {a la Chuck Bass in the back of a limo}, but you rarely see Queen B wearing anything particularly scandalous.  If she sports a shorter hemline, Blair typically covers up her décolletage.  If she favors a plunging neckline, she pairs the dress or blouse with opaque tights.

*Bonus*  When in doubt, channel Audrey.

Leave a Reply

