My Favorite Things: Makeup

Admittedly, I’m not well-versed in the art of makeup.  I tend to be incredibly basic:  foundation, blush, eyeliner, mascara, and maybe a smear of Chapstick and I’m good to go.  Lately I’ve ventured into contouring, but I really save that for special occasions.  I do have five products that I don’t leave my house without and they range from incredibly cheap drugstore finds to more expensive beauty counter products.  In no particular order, here are my favorite makeup products.

1.  MAC Face & Body Foundation {purchase here, $27}

My favorite thing about this water-based foundation is that you can build the coverage that you want.  I like to have a dewy complexion so a quick swipe with an angled foundation brush each morning does the trick.

2.  e.l.f Studio Mineral Infused Face Primer {purchase here, $6}

For my skin, primer is a must.  I love this brand because it’s clear, cheap, and it does the job nicely.  On days when I forget to use primer, my water-based foundation practically slides off my face.  P.S.  e.l.f. products are at Target!

3.  e.l.f. Studio Contouring Palette in St. Lucia {purchase here, $3}

This contouring palette is literally the best $3 I’ve ever spent.  The blush gives me a wonderful dewy, rosy glow and the bronzer is excellent when I’m in the mood to contour my face.

4.  L’oreal Voluminous Power Volume 24 Hour Mascara {purchase at anymore chain store, $7.95}

My mother got me hooked on this mascara several years ago when she placed some “Blackest Black” in my stocking one Christmas.  I’ve been using it ever since.  I have really long eyelashes and a few coats of this really makes my green eyes pop.

5.  Smith’s Rosebud Salve {purchase at major drugstores, usually about $6}

Realistically speaking, if I leave the house with, this is in my purse.  I also keep some on my desk at work, in my nightstand, and in my kitchen.  It’s been around for a long time and the company has never changed the formula or the packaging {which I adore}.  It’s like my lips, but better.

Are there any products you can’t live without?  What are your makeup favorites?

XOXO,

Court

Leave a Reply

